HISTORY OF THE SHORE CLUB

Pre-1916: Farm owned by Joe MacKissick

1916-: "The Wildwood Golf and Country Club" is chartered and incorporated by William J. Jackson, William T. Martin, Jr., Henry H. Ottens, George C. Connor, and J. Charles Winter on December 16th. The club operated under this leadership for approximately 5 years.

1918: Vincent "Vin" O'Donnell is hired as the Club's first golf professional in August and oversees the completion and opening of the homemade 9-hole golf course.

1920: James S. (Jimmie) Young takes over as golf professional

1921: A successor corporation, known as "The Wildwood Golf Club" is formed under the leadership of ten men- Palmer M. Way, Robert C. Latimer, Ralph Carll, C. Howard Topham, Alexander McMurray, Edward Morton, William Hunt, W. Courtright Smith, Thomas Goslin, and H. Foster Goslin. There were two classes of membership - Active and Associate, with the Active membership limited to the 10 individuals who fully controlled the club. Associate members had no voting rights. The Club operated in this fashion until World War II.

1921: Boston-based Wayne Stiles is hired by the Club to design and build a new 18-hole golf course.

1921: The Philadelphia Section PGA was formed, and Vin O'Donnell, the Club's first professional, becomes the Section's first Secretary.

1922: To promote the opening of the new course, a "boosters banquet" was held on May 19, 1922 at the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel in Philadelphia. A four-car train took several hundred enthusiasts to Philadelphia for the event.

1922: The course opens on July 1st at 2:00 PM. Alexander Findlay, the "Father of American Golf" hits the ceremonial first drive. The opening foursome was J. Wood Platt, Zimmie Platt, George Hoffner, and Maurice Talman.

1923: An exhibition match is held on July 21st putting Walter Hagen and Joe Kirkwood against Jimmy Young, the Club professional, and Henry Williams. Hagen had won the British Open several weeks before, and the two visitors won the match. Hagen also set the course record with a 1-under par 71.

1923: Raymond H. Topham becomes the first Men's Club Champion and Mabel Hunt becomes the first Women's Champion.



1924: Thomas B. Wootton is the winner of the Eastern States Inaugural Tournament. In 1944, this event became what is now known as the C.A. "Gus" Heil Memorial Tournament.

1926: Harry "Pop" Avery becomes the Club's Head Golf Professional. He held this position for 37 years.

1926: The Frankford Yellow Jackets football team holds its spring training on the grounds of the club. The team went on to win the NFL Championship that year.

1928: Clarence D. "Spike" Fisher wins his first Club Championship. This was the start of a streak of 7 consecutive Championships. Overall, Mr. Fisher won 12 Club Championships over 6 decades, with the last one being in 1970.

1934: Willard Goeckler wins the first William H. Bright Memorial Tournament.

1935: The first Wildwood Open was won by George B. Smith.

1936:The second Wildwood Open was played alongside the Eastern States Inaugural. Ray Mangrum defeated Leonard Dodson in a 10-hole playoff after being tied after 36 holes. The two each played a total of 46 holes in one day.

1941: The Club structure changes whereby the Club was controlled by a 20-member Board of Trustees, with 12 permanent members and 8 members elected every 2 years. This structure remains in effect until 2012.

1951: Arnold Palmer, a Coast Guard recruit stationed at Cape May, makes several appearances at the Club to practice and play.

1952: Construction of the Garden State Parkway begins. Four holes on the course are affected (the 2^{nd} Hole which now 18, the 3^{rd} which is now 9, the 16^{th} which no longer exists, and the 17^{th} which is now a practice hole), requiring reconfiguration of the course.

1954: Ed DeBaufre becomes Head Professional. The Philadelphia PGA Section award for lowest scoring average is named after him.

1968: Marty Furgol comes on board as the Teaching Professional. Marty had won 5 times on the PGA Tour, and was on the 1955 Ryder Cup team.

1969: Bob Keating begins his long affiliation with the Club, starting out as a bag boy.

1971: Bob Keating becomes Assistant Pro.

1981: Terry Smick wins the first of his 15 Club Championships.

1985: Billy Clement becomes the first Junior Member to win the Club Championship.

1986: Terry Smick begins a streak of 10 consecutive Club Championships.

1991: Bob Keating becomes General Manager.

1991: Jeannie Greishaber wins the first of 6 consecutive Women's Club Championships.

1993: Beloved Club Professional Sam Duncan dies of complications from a stroke.

1995: Two new holes (the current 11th and 12th holes) are designed and built by Brian Ault.

1999: Terry Smick wins his 15th Club Championship.

1999: The 11th and 12th holes are redone and the driving range and practice facility is completed.

2000: Janet LaMonica wins the first of 5 consecutive Women's Club Championships.

2008: L.J. Georgetti wins the Men's Club Championship at age 15.

2010: John Appleget joins the Professional Staff as Teaching Pro.

2010: Alex Hicks wins the Men's Club Championship at age 17 and Meghna Patel becomes the first Junior Member to win the Women's Club Championship at age 13.

2012: The structure of the Board of Trustees which had been in place since 1945 changes to a fully-elected Board of 7 Trustees.

2012: Beloved General Manger Bob Keating retires after 43 years of service to the Club.

2012: Doug Larson becomes Green Superintendent, returning to the Club where he had grown up as a member and was the Assistant Superintendent in the early 90's.

2017: The members approve the sale of the Wildwood Golf & Country Club to The Shore Club, LLC, which was founded by a group of members. The LLC owns the assets, and leases them back to the Club. This recapitalization allowed the Club to retire its debts and invest in multiple, ongoing capital improvement programs to ensure the Club's financial strength, appeal to current and future members, and operate in a sustainable businesslike manner. The Club is renamed The Shore Club.

Club Head Golf Professionals

1918-1920: Vin O'Donnell
1920-1925: Jimmie Young
1925-1953: Harry "Pop" Avery
1953-1964: Ed DeBaufre
1964: Bill Moran

1964: Bill Moran 1965-1984: Ronnie Ward 1984-1993: Sam Duncan 1994-1998: David Startzel 1998-2000: Fred Riedel 2001-2004: David Smolsky

2004-2021: Fred Riedel (now Pro-Emeritus)

2021 – Present: Cam White

This was put together with information collected by Fred Riedel and Mike White with assistance from Joe Bausch and Peter Trenham